Airbrushing Experience???

31 Replies, 34877 Views

Is there anyone with Airbrushing Experience. Not necessarily expert experience anything will be beneficial. Whether it be just a couple, a dozen or dozens of times. I would appreciate any sharing of what you think as I am thinking of dabbling a little. My interest isn't to be a major artist but just be able to do a little spraying now and then. I thought of this especially for my latest mod, Conrail. I wanted to lightly spray a clear coat over it because decals can become brittle over time and handling can make them fall off. If you do have experience how do you like it? Is it easy to learn and use? Have an opinion on what a beginner should buy? Any tips? What a beginner doesn't need? Any input would be appreciated.
[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
Hi I am an amateur airbrusher, so far I have done 2 locomotives and was very impressed with the results. You need to thin the paint to a milky consistency, a gravity feed gun is best and I started off with a kit from ebay for around $60 then upgraded to a better kit with 2 guns and a larger compressor. I have used humbrol enamel & acrylic and I was amazed at how thinly the paint lays down still leaving finely molded details clearly visible unlike with say a spraycan or brush which can cover up allot of detail with thick paint. A painters turntable as seen in the 3rd pic is also recommended Smile

[Image: 20140614_142558.jpg]

[Image: 20140614_224850.jpg]

[Image: 20140614_214823.jpg]

[Image: 20140617_164228.jpg]

[Image: 20140617_164135.jpg]
[-] The following 3 users Like Ucwepn's post:
  • anc6802, ripley802, Super
I use a Paasche VL airbrush its quite old probably from the early 70's I'm guessing, I got it from my dad, he doe some crazy airbrushing on cars. I used to use it alot when i built model cars.