Glues & Epoxy---What Do You Use?

14 Replies, 14267 Views

Glues & Epoxy---What Do You Use?

Since my days of modeling were a very long time ago (don't ask) Glues have come a long way and the list of choices has become too much. Tired of getting my fingers stuck together or other things stuck with Super Glue and even that has many choices. I have a tall Radio Tower model to put together and I am not sure what to use. There are tons of glue videos on YouTube also but I want to ask our viewers here...What Glues and/or Epoxy's do you like to use? Or maybe you have an interesting story about a glue project gone wrong you would like to share.
[Image: super-smiley-emoticon.gif]
I'm a firm believer in araldite it's an epoxy resin that comes in x2 parts which you mix in equal amounts, it's really strong and I use it on all my modelling projects, when I was an apprentice I spent time in a department that made eddy current probes, they used to put a coil of wire around an iron center then they would take x3 probes, fit them in a 'skate' and araldite the face of the skate, the skate was spring loaded and the face used to rub along a billet and pick up defects in the steel. When I was making some skates I got some araldite on my fingers, So I wiped my hand on the lip of the supervisors coffee draw, it was only a small smear along the bottom edge of the draw which I then closed, the following day when he came to work he tried to get in but couldn't! It was stuck solid!
I have had great success with Loctite precision super glue, I use it to mount handrails and to attach funnels (brass to plastic), has been very good with no failures so far and the best super glue I have used to date.
re Tramp

That is a funny story Tramp, did you fess up that it was you who glued his drawer closed?